Utah Adoption Specialists can help birth parents with pre- and post-placement counseling, relinquishment of parental rights, and managing birth parent expenses.

Note: We use the term birth parents to mean both expecting parents with an adoption plan and those who have already placed their child. We are sensitive to the fact that expectant parents are not birth parents until after placement, but to alleviate confusion we use the term birth parents throughout.

All fees associated with birth parent services are the responsibility of the chosen adoptive couple, and will be billed appropriately. Birth parents will never be billed for services.

Utah Birth Parent Services Pricing

Counseling

Individual counseling for birth parents pre-placement through up to six months post-placement. We provide in-person counseling at a local and comfortable location as often as possible, but may use Skype or a phone call in cases of great distance. Hourly $70
All Inclusive   $1000

Birth Parent Relinquishments

Per Utah State Law, in a private adoption a birth parent may relinquish in court or in front of a court appointed commissioner. When your attorney determines it best for birth parents to relinquish in front of a court appointed commissioner, one of our workers can be appointed. We will then coordinate with your attorney to handle all of the relinquishment planning and execution. We will meet your birth parent(s) at the hospital or their chosen location to execute the legal documents. Each ** $250

Birth Parent Expense Management

Reasonable birth parent expenses may be covered by the adoptive couple during the birth mother’s pregnancy and for her confinement period (6-8 weeks post birth). If your birth parents need living expenses and/or medical expenses paid, Utah Adoption Specialists can help facilitate the payment of expenses and transfer of funds for you in cooperation with your attorney. Hourly $70

Begin Your Adoption StoryOr learn about About Us

* You decide whether you’d like to begin counseling at our hourly rate or pay for all inclusive services up front. Regardless, during the pregnancy and 6 months post-placement your total counseling cost will not exceed $1000. Counseling past 6 months post birth is an additional hourly charge.

** Our $70 hourly rate will be applied to birth parent relinquishments lasting more than two hours or if the birth and/or legal father wish to relinquish at a different time than the birth mother.

We are happy to travel anywhere throughout the state of Utah. A travel fee may apply if you live outside of Salt Lake, Utah, Davis, Weber, or Washington Counties.